Monkey pox virus resurfaces in 8 states including the FCT

The Nigerian Centre for Disease Control says 38 cases of
the dreaded monkey pox has been confirmed in 8 states
The affected states are: Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Delta, Edo,
Ekiti, Enugu, Lagos, Rivers and the Federal Capital Territory.
According to the centre's report, there has been 116
suspected cases in 20 states and the FCT. since the onset
of the outbreak and 145 contacts are still under follow up.
The report also said that more men than women have been
infected at a ratio of 2:1. The NCDC said public awareness
activities have been intensified while laboratory testing
capacity has been extablished in the National Reference
Laboratory, Abuja.

No comments

Please Share Your Thoughts!